Where Time With Wings

It has been two months since I wrote last, I cannot believe how quickly time has swooped up my months. This will be brief—

I was reading at Susquehanna University. With luck and many thanks to Susquehanna University two of my poems got published in their national review – Conch and Soup, NY.  I went up to the University on the 17th of February to read the two pieces. It was an amazing experience. The professors and staff of SU Review are wonderful people.

photo (8)

You can read my work along with the amazing works of other folks who got published here ->  http://www.susquehannareview.com/ I would suggest reading Rebecca Thieman’s Look Beneath the Floorboards the Secrets I Have Hid. Amazing, amazing piece. Hearing her read it on the 17th was chilling.
Capture

I got accepted into the Cape May Playwright Symposium. I sent in a sample of  my play Lemon Meringue which received a stage reading last year at Shippensburg University and in a couple of weeks I got:

Capture2

So in May I’ll be heading to the shore to take part in this amazing experience. Thanks Professor Paris Peet, who has helped me so much. He is a man full of wisdom. I hope everyone has a chance to take part in one of his classes or listens to him speak…

And Finally….

Two poems of mine got accepted into Shippensburg’s Literary Journal The Reflector. The accepted pieces got sent to Shane McCrae an award winning poet and this is the email I received.

Capture3

I could cry or scream I am so happy… this email gave me such a huge drive to push for the thing I love. Words are like blood in my body, I need them to breathe and Shane McCrae… thank you…so much.

– Beirut

This entry was published on March 4, 2013 at 6:48 pm. It’s filed under Job Hunting, Liberation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Where Time With Wings

  1. Congratulations Benjamin…the poems are beautiful.

Leave a comment