Greeting People With Goodbyes

I apologize for not writing in the past months but losing track of time is very easy when you are traveling.

Currently I am in the South – (after an unexpected taxi ride and being conned out of 135,000W by the same man) – I am writing this excerpt in the blank spaces in a biography of Tina Fey (I brought a pen, but it seems no paper) sitting in the Daehan Dawon Green Tea Plantation in the Boseong Jeollanamdo region. Green Tea is what this region is famous for. It is literally everywhere.

The temperature is mild verging on very hot due to the climb through the plantation that resides on the side and top of a mountain(s). It is serene. From the top of the mountain you can see the sea and it’s vibrant shores peaking through the mountain range itself – which only seem like a few steps away (and by bus it really is not too far.). In the nearer distance Aljimas are picking leaves. I feel slightly pathetic eating green tea ice while these elderly women are working. Like most areas of Korea the women seem to be the stronger – such as the women free divers in Jeju who dive to the ocean floor during high tide with just a mask looking for abalone to the women working here gather leaves on the side of the mountain in the heat carrying bags of their pickings on top of their heads.

Being among this long tradition I can’t help but recollect my life here in Asia. From the strange ethnic foods I have eaten (dog, butterfly caterpillars, peanut butter cooked squid, raw meats – beef, fish, etc.) to the things I’ve done (learned another language and culture, climbed the Hwaseong fortress wall in Suwon, lit incense for my family and friends in front of a giant golden Buddha residing on the side of a mountain, cliff and harbor wall dived in Jeju, swam in a waterfall pool on the side of a mountain near Halla-Sans, traveled to one of the largest cities (Seoul) in the world quite a few times, climbed a mountain just to visit the small temple at the top, prayed to Buddha in a temple during the Lotus Lantern Festival, climbed a few mountains, acted in a Korean play called O-Gu, went to a muesum dedicated to toilets and sanitation, traveled to an island’s island – Udo (cow island), climbed a volcano and visited the light house on top that has been working there since the 50’s guiding ships home safely, met a famous director, watched his show and then went out to have hot Japanese liquor with him – Sake, was pulled into and had to dance in a traditional parade at the N. Tower (One of the highest points in Korea), went into one of the largest caves/lava tubes in the world, drove in a foreign country, and a million other things but the biggest thing I’ve done and the hardest was saying goodbye to many good friends….

Which is the curse of the traveler. It seems like you greet people with goodbyes when you travel. You meet them knowing your time is limited – probably one of the main reason why that time is so precious and you become good friends so quickly. And I have run out of time here and tomorrow I will say goodbye to Asia and it’s people temporarily. It is very hard to leave a culture and language you begin to fall in love with.

Regardless, even though in a few hours my journey ends here in Korea my travels and future adventures do not. And with quick hopes I will return to this country and complete the task I was unable to do – Andong, Busan, Climb Halla-Sans, Dokdo Island.. this list go on…

Traveling constantly throughout Korea makes me wonder why I never took advantage of my own country. There are many hidden treasures in your back yard… even though it might seem routine it’s something that should be explored. I cannot even begin to list the things I’ve seen or people I’ve met just by touring these small back roads or corners in Korea. I can only wonder what I am missing back in the States…

So here is to finding what I have been missing this whole time. Here is to seeing what the mother land brings. Here is to all of my support these past few months, to my friends and family.  Here is to good food, meeting new people, and seeing new places. Here is to Asia. Here is to forever exploring.

With care and respect,

Beirut

This entry was published on June 29, 2012 at 11:47 am. It’s filed under Korea Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment